Home » Verse of the Sunday » Verse of the (SUN)DAY!

Verse of the (SUN)DAY!

Hebrews 13:1-2, 5-6

1. Let brotherly love continue.

2. Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.

5. Let your conversation be without covetousness and be content with such as you have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.

6. So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.

People take advantage of other people’s kindness and charity, that is no secret. But should we abandon these things just because our feelings may be hurt?

The Lord freely loves us- I wrote a out that love last week. Shouldn’t we love each other the same way?

I try to give to those who appear to be needy whenever possible. I do not want to stand before The Lord one day and have him ask me “why didn’t you help that person? I put them in your path and you turned away.”

Sure that homeless guy might go and buy liquor with my $2 or that Lady I donated clothing to, may sell them. But they may not… they might really be in need and appreciate the charity. Either way, it does not matter! That’s not what I am accountable for, only my actions or lack thereof. I hope if I ever found myself in a desperate situation that someone would give me the benefit of the doubt and reach out a helping hand.

With that being said, I don’t feel that we should allow ourselves to be taken advantage of. For example, if I see a homeless man, I buy him food or other items and take it to him instead of giving cash.

It can hurt us when we are taken advantage of and make us not want to help others in the future but please don’t allow this to harden your heart. Look at the last 2 verses of this passage, do not fear what men may do… Be content, love.

Leave a Reply

