Home » Information » The Power of Words

The Power of Words

20130520-154109.jpg

The Power Of Words

Words. They are thoughts that leave the mind through writing, voice, or even sign language. They are powerful. Words can build up, destroy, inspire, bewitch, provoke, or even instill fear.

Think about a time when someone uttered a phrase that greatly affected you. Maybe it made your heart pound, your palms sweat, and your soul leap. That’s how I felt the first time I heard my husband tell me he loved me. Three words, I love you, set off a chain reaction in my body causing a wave of emotion.

But what if someone told you that they hated you? Or told proclaimed your worthlessness? What kind of reaction would that spark?

The bible says

Proverbs 18:21 ESV

Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits.

We all say things we should not and we all get out feelings hurt from time to time. It’s those times that the words cut the deepest, I find myself reflecting on my own choices. Am I as careful as I should be? Do I choose my words wisely?

Wives, do you speak to your husbands with respect or cut him down? I know I’ve made my fair share or mistakes, but I strive to make far less in my future than I have in my past.

I am often reminded by the news how powerful words can be when teenagers take their own life because others have not chosen their words so wisely. Teens taunted, bullied, reviled and ridiculed to the point of exhaustion and despair.

Take some time, reflect on this. Be kind to one another in your words. You never know what is going on in the life of the person you have encountered.

Check out this list of bible verses on the subject by clicking here.

One thought on “The Power of Words

  1. Wonderfully said! Thank you for this reminder, I so much needed this. This was a great way to start my day!

Leave a Reply

