Home » Breastfeeding » Guest Post: In Order For Her To Survive

Guest Post: In Order For Her To Survive

In order for her to survive, I have to get the milk out of me and into her.
I knew nursing wouldn’t be easy. My first two fought the breast and wouldn’t latch, but this time things were different. I wouldn’t subject myself to the emotional and mental struggle of fighting with inverted nipples and huge milk filled breast and a fussy hungry baby. I made my mind up before giving birth. I would pump for her. In my mind, this seemed so easy. I was wrong.
The first 4 or so days she was on formula. I was in tremendous pain from a c section and tubal ligation. Again, I knew how emotional it would be to fight with nursing. So I took the formula route.

I didn’t pump until we got home. I wasn’t uncomfortable or engorged and the milk actually was flowing. By our third day home she was on half formula and half breast milk. I had been pumping every 3 hours around the clock, even if she was asleep. By day 7 she was on breast milk only. I was so proud of myself.

Then sleep deprivation hit. Was it worth it? Could I keep it up? Then I looked at my sweet baby. Yes. She. Was. Worth. It.

I made the commitment to her then and there. No matter what it took I would pump for her. I knew she couldn’t get the milk out. In my mind, I created the scenario where in order for her to survive I had to get the milk out of me and into her. There was no other option. If I didn’t pump she would have no food and she would die. I accepted my relationship with my pump. It was my friend, her lifeline. I never felt shackled by it or resented it. I loved that pump. I didn’t resent pumping every 3 hours. I wanted to. I needed to. I did it for her and I did it willingly. Lovingly.

Family and friends questioned my dedication. “Aren’t you tired of pumping?” How could I ever tire of giving Isa the perfect milk for her? What kind of mother would I be if I stopped pumping because it interfered with my life?

I had supply drops. Seeking the advise of wise mothers I was able to use tricks to get it back up. I used donor milk from loving generous mothers. I struggled. Yes it was hard, but SHE not it was worth it.

I exclusively pumped for Isa for 13 months. Looking back it seemed to pass so quickly. I can not put into words how exciting it feels to have accomplished such a thing for her. How I sacrificed so many things, with a loving heart, for her. Sleep, foods, time, leaving the house, did I mention sleep? I have no regrets. No ill feelings toward that wonderful pump. In fact. I still have it. And can’t bring myself to get rid of it.

I don’t think I could have lasted 13 months feeling chained to the pump. How can you do something and not love it? Changing my outlook on it is what saved me. And Isa.

20130515-085008.jpg

6 thoughts on “Guest Post: In Order For Her To Survive

  1. What a great story, Casey! Thank you for sharing! You were such an inspiration for me during my breastfeeding journey and struggles! Thanks for sharing your story!

Leave a Reply

