Home » FOOD! » Baby Food In A Jar- WHAT A JOKE!

Baby Food In A Jar- WHAT A JOKE!

20130505-145443.jpg

Let me start by saying, I don’t think “jarred” baby food is evil or that you are a bad parent for feeding it to your kids. BUT!…………IT-IS-A-JOKE!

I want to say shame on Doctors for insisting that parents need to feed their infants puréed food in the first place. Babies that are truly ready for solids are well able to feed themselves, chew foods with or without teeth and swallow and without choking to death. Obviously parental supervision is required when feeding a baby anything. This approach is called baby led weaning, to learn more about this click HERE

See Jack above demolishing a piece of grilled chicken. (No salt of course)

Secondly, shame on you baby food manufacturers for insisting that you are the expert on infant feeding and quality. I beg to differ. Charging obscene prices for disgusting mush… But then again many parents choose to give you their hard earned money.

Parents exactly how much of your money are they getting? Lets see, at a mere 3 jars/containers a day of the non-organic “1st foods”-say pears buying the most popular brand will cost you an avg of $3 per day. In one months time, $90 will have gone to factory processed puréed pears. If you took your $90 to my local produce stand you would be able to purchase 56.6 pounds of fresh delicious pears at 1.59 per pound. At that rate, you could make over 360 “jars” of puréed pears yourself.

This is an example and I’m sure some parents spend way more and some way less.

I understand that we all lead busy lives and convenience is king but when you think about how much that is costing you, it’s sickening. Even myself have purchased organic purée in a pouch before, but I don’t make a habit of it. They are nice on the go but extremely expensive and again there’s an option for that as well.

If you are not comfortable with the baby led weaning approach, no problem! But do yourself a favor, purchase a food mill, stainless fruit/veggie steamer and make your own. Set aside a couple hours per week and make larger batches if need be. They also make reusable squeeze pouches to put your home made baby food in.

I’m not trying to condemn or judge so do not take this the wrong way but I am trying to point out how ridiculous this baby feeding fiasco actually is.

Reusable food pouch on amazon here.

You can purchase a food mill from amazon or angel britches in the local Baton Rouge area.

Stainless Steamer On Amazon

20130505-154647.jpg

8 thoughts on “Baby Food In A Jar- WHAT A JOKE!

  1. I have to admit, the idea of handing my baby a whole piece of chicken scares me (well, not now, but when she was younger), but I know a lot of parent (like you) do it and your babies are fine. Maybe I’ll be more brave the next go around.

  2. I made my own pureed food for my first. With my second i just let him grab for things as time went on. It was a lot less stressful for me. Its pretty easy to just cut up a banana or avocado and let them eat what they want rather then sitting there forcing them to eat a jar for 30 minutes. 🙂

  3. If it needs smooshing, I just use a fork :). No dirty blenders or extra appliances laying around that way.

  4. Even at a year old, my son has (and daughter had) a very sensitive gag reflex. So, I still wouldn’t give him a chunk of chicken. However, neither of my kids ever had babyfood from a jar. I agree that it’s disgusting! I made both their babyfood from fresh, organic fruits, veggies, and meats, and, guess what, I work full time! So, where there’s a will, there’s a way! If it’s a priority, there’s definitely time for it!

  5. Pingback: Messy Girl – Adventures in Baby-Led Weaning | What Margot Ate

Leave a Reply

